Home - Manna
home,page,page-id-1797,page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,et_bloom,et_monarch,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,paspartu_enabled,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-7.7,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.7.4,vc_responsive

Imagine the huge challenges presented across more than 800 Christian congregations in four vast dioceses doing mission & holistic Community Development in two of the world’s poorest countries. MANNA’s work is needed today more than ever. You can help.

MANNA works in partnership with the 4 dioceses:

Mozambique – Lebombo

Bishop: The Right Reverend Carlos Simão Matsinhe 

The Diocese of Lebombo’s beginnings go back a long way to the 1890’s. It is located in the southern part of the country and is divided into 7 archdeaconries. Lebombo has 250 congregations (with 23 new ones being formed), 58 priests, 4 deacons and 295 catechists (lay ministers) and like both Niassa and Angola, it is growing. It has 21 ordinands at present, 8 of whom are women. It’s community development work comes under the banner of Anglican Social Action and is involved in education and health care. It has plans to build seminary to train more priests and grow the kingdom of God in depth and numbers across the diocese.

Mozambique – Niassa

Bishop: The Right Reverend Vicente Msossa  

The Diocese of Niassa, an Anglican diocese of Mozambique is vast. Located north of its sister diocese, Lebombo and next to the new missionary diocese of Nampula, it covers the provinces of Niassa, Zambezia and Tete. It is twice the size geographically of the UK and has 312 congregations and 40 priests. Niassa Diocese has grown a vibrant and extensive community development programme which works with HIV, nutrition, agriculture, education, water and sanitation.

Mozambique: The Missionary Diocese of Nampula

Bishop: The Right Reverend Manuel Ernesto

The Missionary Diocese of Nampula was recently created (September 2018) having been agreed by the Province of Southern Africa. It’s creation is due to the rapid growth of the Diocese of Niassa and the long-term strategic plans to multiply. It includes the provinces of Nampula and Cabo Delgado and is home to 8.4 million people. Nampula diocese has 15 clergy, 130 congregations, 9 parishes and over 450 catechists and 25,000 members. It’s community development work partners with Anglican Overseas Aid and it has a large refugee pastorate in Maratane Refugee camp.

Angola: The Diocese of Angola

Bishop: The Right Reverend André Soares 

The Diocese of Angola, part of the Anglican Church of Southern Africa is a very large diocese, encompassing the entire country of Angola. It is divided into four archdeaconries, Luanda, Lukunga Lozi (Songo), Nzadi a Lukiki and Uíge. It has a total of 63 congregations with 58,000 members. Like the dioceses in Mozambique, some of the churches are active in healthcare, education and community development. The Nora Sturges Health Centre in Lobito, established in 2003 is one of such projects.

4 days ago

MANNA - Mozambique and Angola Anglican Association

Read this wonderful story from a Rooted in Jesus leader on the recent training in Mozambique.At the Mozambique conference Father Kapomba Sekeleti from Eastern Zambia gace this feedback.

Father Kapomba Sekeleti has reported on how Rooted in Jesus is doing in his diocese of Eastern Zambia. He told gathered leaders in Mozambique:
“We struggled with how to train our leaders. We had no materials, no consistency; we were not helping our children. But the church is dependent on its children. Now we have RinJ Junior.
Because of that our bishop endorsed RinJ at our diocesan Synod. After seeing good results and the fruit of RinJ he said this is the right way to go. And wherever you go in the diocese you see a Sunday school group using RinJ. My son Stephen is a good example. He is learning the memory verses. He stood at an anniversary conference reciting a memory verse about peace.
People standing for any form of leadership in the diocese are expected to have completed a course, and RinJ is the main one. And you have to show a certificate as evidence.
People are now rooted in Jesus. Division in the church comes because people are not rooted in Jesus. Things have changed in the lives of our ministers and lay leaders. We use RinJ Junior for child baptism preparation, and RinJ adult for adults.
What about the materials we used to use? The catechism material is theological. It is for the head. It needs to be led by someone with theological training. Not so with Rooted in Jesus. The material is simple and easily understood.
In Zambia we have seen people returning to faith, deepening their prayer life, increasing their commitment to church. We have seen growing interest in the Bible. Even our Bible studies are lively because people now understand scripture. And people are becoming grounded in the word of God, they love the church more, they are growing the church. Some have the confidence to preach the word of God, some to pray for others. These are some of the fruits we have seen because people are rooted in Jesus.
Romans 10.14-15 - How, then, can they call on the one they have not believed in? And how can they believe in the one of whom they have not heard? And how can they hear without someone preaching to them? 15 And how can anyone preach unless they are sent? As it is written: “How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news!”
Fr Kapomba Sekeleti, November 2018
... See MoreSee Less

Read this wonderful story from a Rooted in Jesus leader on the recent training in Mozambique.

It's all about partnership in the gospel. :-)

Alma London Anglican Communion News Service Diocese dos Libombos - Moçambique Mothers' Union Derby Cathedral Diocese of Derby Diocese of London
... See MoreSee Less

Its all about partnership in the gospel. :-)

Alma London Anglican Communion News Service Diocese dos Libombos - Moçambique Mothers Union Derby Cathedral Diocese of Derby Diocese of London
Load more